VLM16 – Week 1

So here we are. It’s the end of my first week of training for the London Marathon.. go me!

I had to move my long run to today as I’m working tomorrow, but it went pretty well. I took to the gym to give me the chance to do some weights work after the run. The weights were certainly easier than Wednesday night’s Run then Swim… 20 minutes of each were a lot harder than they should have been in all fairness!

Now, I’m not a fast runner by any means, but I’ve started the training at a steady pace which I’m pretty pleased with. I am finding the mental challenge the hardest of the lot and this is going to be a massive test for me.

I always judge myself against everyone else and with friends of mine clocking up 8, 9 or 10 minute miles, my 12:30 pace makes me feel really down. I won’t quit, but it’s tough. I need to get over this and remember that the only person I have to beat, is me.

In the meantime, I have some new additions to the fish tank in my living room in a bid to aid my relaxation.

On that note, I should really finish getting my kit ready for work (photographing Oxford United v Swansea tomorrow), so I will add some more thoughts soon!

Thanks to everyone for your support!

Leave a Reply

