The challenge begins

With February on our doorstep, training for my latest challenge is about to get underway.

A couple of weeks ago, I noticed (via Cheltenham Town’s official Twitter feed – @CTFC_Official) that there was a challenge taking place, organised by Help The Hospices (@HelptheHospices), the Football League’s official charity for 2011/2012.

The challenge is to cycle from Wembley Stadium to the Arc de Triomphe in Paris. The ride is over 3 days and 244 miles (393km) in June.

Now, I should point out that I’m not a brilliant cyclist. In fact last year I had at least two accidents on the bike. One was full on, off the bike and sprawled on the pavement (I hit a kerb) while the other saw me misjudge the space between two bits of fencing on the building site of an estate that I live on. In the last incident, the fence came off slightly worse.

Has this put me off? Well, a little, but I want to do something to help this fantastic charity. The support they give to Hospices is brilliant. How many of us know someone who has spent time in one?

I’m pretty sure I will be cycle-fit enough to complete the challenge and I have the determination to raise the money so why not give it a try?

I’m hoping to put on a charity concert with a couple of friends in the next month or so (just need to organise the venue – anyone in Gloucestershire want to loan me somewhere and/or kit for free for a great cause?!) along with other ideas which are in the background, to help raise money. Which reminds me, I must setup my online sponsorship page…

The training will begin in two weeks. Need to fix one of the tyres on my road bike and plan how I’m going to approach this. Having not cycled more than 1 mile to/from the train station in the last 14 years, I’m confident this will be tough!

2 thoughts on “The challenge begins

Leave a Reply

